Revival! And my book-a-week goal.

There is no excuse as to why I haven’t written in this blog for over a year. Well, there is an excuse – just not a good one. My boyfriend visited for two months, I went through a dry reading spell, I focused on other writing, disability activism and another blog, and just suffered a bout of lethargy. I could have listed the books I’d read, but I always “didn’t feel like it.” Shame!

 I’ve decided to revive this blog. If I feel myself getting into the book blog slump, I will fight it with the strength of a thousand bibliophiles. I probably won’t focus on long reviews, unless I really liked something, and I won’t promise to review every book I finish. I don’t want to feel like this is an assignment I must complete.

Three weeks ago, I gave myself a goal – read one book, at least, per week. I’ve been sticking to it, and I feel a lot more productive and creative because of it. I’m a slow reader to begin with, and I only read at night when I’m in bed. Instead of reading a few pages and then turning on the Game Show Network, I’ve been calling my boyfriend, eating my little snack, and then reading reading reading. I average about thirty pages a day.

In addition to reading my ass off, I’ve started taking some online classes on grammar and writing. They take up a lot of time, but I feel the benefits. I want to write more, and I am writing more. Hence, I am writing this blog today. Tomorrow, I’ll write in my other blog. The next day, I conquer the world.

Leave a Reply

